Monday, January 31, 2011

Monday Monday

Today was a weird day in the fact that I don't really remember much of it. All I know is that it was successful. I got to school, did it, then went home. That's about it. I really wish that there was more to say about today, but there's not. It was truly a boring monday, but on the positive side, it was boring and nothing really crazy happened.


Something really positive was that I finally got to skype with Jacob and we got to see each other after not having the time for a week or so. It was really nice just talking to him... I'm pretty sure I "L word" him for real.

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Late night

I didn't get home from my job until 3am this morning. I got off around 2:20ish, then it took me forever to get home because there was crazy fog. I couldn't see 50 feet in front of me. At one point, I couldn't see the hood of my car. I was going about 10 miles per hour for some of it. I then wasn't able to get to sleep until about 4am because I was just awake. It was really weird. I finally was able to sleep and I slept like a rock until 11am when my alarm went off. What a freakin' joke. I slept in until 1pm, because I was just feeling so gross. But, it was lovely to sleep in for once. 


I had a homework filled day. I finished two sections of math, some of an english assignment and I'm working on my Honors In Action project for Phi Theta Kappa so I can get to Level 3 membership. I really have just been running! Serious jogging to keep up with this quarter, and next quarter will be the exact same. I'm really worried that I'm going to trip. But that isn't positive. I'm hoping that I will continue to jog and then maybe be able to slow down to a lesser pace and still keep up. Yay, positive! 


Right now, I'm listening to Sing, Sing, Sing [With a Swing] by the great Benny Goodman. I love big band music. It is my secret [not so much now] passion. It can take me from a bad mood to an amazing mood. I feel connected to that music, don't ask me why. I'm not sure on the why. Tomorrow I'm going to look cute. I actually have an outfit picked out. I know it sounds funny, but I'm not a pick out my clothing the day before kind of girl. We'll see how it goes! Maybe I'll go to bed early tonight. :]


Tomorrow is going to be a Great Day!




Saturday, January 29, 2011

Ronald McDonald House pt. 2!

So, today was pretty good. I didn't get home until 2am-ish last night so I slept in until 11am. I hung out in my room most of the day until I had to go to Clark College to round up the troops to go to the Ronald McDonald House. Actually, it went amazing, but there was less interaction with the people there than last time. The girl who I was talking to last weekend wasn't there this time, so I'm hoping she got to go back home to Jersey. That's positive for this situation. I ended up dropping some of the chicken into the dang oven. It was really upsetting, but my team was all over helping me out. It made me feel a lot better about doing something like that. They really helped me out and reassured me that it was an accident and it was okay! 


I dropped by my moms work to just say hi because I miss her. We made a date for next Thursday at 4pm to hang out. The last time I really had much of any time with her was when my head was in the toilet. We did get to talk a little bit about what was going on in Egypt. I've had so many people ask me what was going on over there. It's kind of cool in a way because people are really recognizing me as a person with political knowledge. On the other hand, with that resting on my shoulders, it's my responsibility to do what I think is right and help the Egyptian people in their plight. This is my positive spin on this situation; if I post about this on my blog, people will be less ignorant. If I help in that way, by making people more aware of the situation and why they are doing what they are doing then I feel like I'm helping in the little way that I can. 


Here is a link to BBC Photographs. These are... the less gruesome of the pictures I've seen. The death toll now is over 100 people. Over 100 people have died for something they truly believe in; their human rights and freedom from oppression. Please take a look at the various links on the BBC Webpage about the situation in Egypt. It is important for them to know that the people of America support them in their fight for their basic human rights set forth by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Thank you for your time, I very much appreciate it.  :]

Friday, January 28, 2011

Roller Coaster!

Of loooove! Okay, maybe not, but today was a crazy roller coaster of both crap and awesome. It started off with me not getting off from work until 2am... then I had the worst sinus headache/migraine I've ever had in my entire life. Ever. I slept for a while then 10am rolled around and I was throwing up because it was so painful. CRAZYNESS! Anyway, I felt better, took a shower and then went to my Phi Theta Kappa meeting... signed up for a bunch of stuff. People looked at me funny because I was wearing sun glasses indoors. It was seriously too bright today. Everywhere.


After that, I got some coffee with a long time friend, Heather. We ordered some food and had a really good time jut talking. I miss her a lot, but we just don't get together that often due to life happening. We always have the most hilarious conversations ever and we laugh a ton, it's just awesome. She also gave me a necklace she made me. It's on the back of a scrabble letter, one of those really cute ones! Its a flower. My mom got the pink one with the rhinestone. They were both gorgeous. Anyway, we made a date to hang out in a few weeks because that's all I have open and then I went to look at the menu of a swanky bar next door to where we had lunch.


I had already made tentative plans to go out with someone because it was the birthday of her godson who had passed away. It was really sad and I knew that she needed comfort with her friends! We went to said swanky place and it was delicious! Its on Birch street next to Painless Ricks Tattoo [which is where I got my only tattoo]. Anyway- we had a really good time there, the bartender actually came to our table and talked to us, checked our IDs... but he didn't do that to any other table. Go team! haha... I said it was because we were a table of fine ladies. The waitress said we could stay all night because pretty ladies in the window brought in customers. 


It started off as a pretty rotten day, but it turned into something amazing and then ended amazing. Tomorrow- Ronald McDonald House! :]

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Long day!

This morning was okay... our yoga instructor was sick so we had a lady who teaches at the other campus. Oh man, she is intense. We did about 50 sun salutations. Leah and I had a nice trip home, we just talked a bunch. I then took a 2ish hour nap because I was feeling so gross. That nap was from heaven! It was about 53ish degrees outside, and so I had the windows open and there was a breeze. It was beautiful. I love sleeping in places that are just gorgeous. I know that might sound weird, but oh man! It was wonderful. 


I had a really nice talk with my cousin Courtney. We talked for about 30 minutes. It's actually the first time we've talked on the phone... ever. It was really nice, and I really love that she called me. It really means the world to me, actually... she's my only older girl cousin and I've always tried to impress her because I love her and I always wanted more attention from her growing up... it was so nice just talking to her tonight. Seriously.


Today was a long day, I'm actually still at work and will be for a while. Oh well, it's a lot of money for me, I guess. Go money! I'm not sure why I have a lack of writing to spew forth from my fingers, but I just didn't do much today. But overall, it was a great day.


This weekend will be busy work, though. Jacob is leaving on a leadership trip for his fraternity. No phones or computers allowed. So, the positive side for that is... it's coming, give it a second... I do more work? Yes. I do more work. 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Win!

So, today I got to school and blew chunks all over the parking lot. Good job me. I couldn't miss class though, because I had a math test. The math test went AMAZING, by the way. I think I did excellent. I will be surprised if I don't get an A. So, after that was MUN Class... and I was just not feeling it. I text my coach and asked if I could go home. He was nice and said yes because even our teacher is home sick for the second time this quarter. That was really nice of him.


I turned in my English homework, but with an online class, it never seems to end. I also got to the Silver level of membership of the Honors Society at school- Phi Theta Kappa. I'm really excited about that! Now to go lay down and try to sleep.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Menstruation Blues

Ah... being a lady. It's so fun. haha. So, I had yoga today and we did some really soothing poses for "that time of the month". It was really awesome, actually, and I really loved how I felt after. I hope we are able to do it on Thursday as well. I'm having the worst pains ever right about now, but I guess the positive side is that my body is working? haha. So, yay for working reproductive systems!


Jake is sick... I feel bad that I can't be down there to take care of him. The positive side- I'm not down there... so I can't get sick. haha. Leah and I went to Costco today to get samples, it was fun, and we were silly as usual. No matter how many times we go there, we always find something fun to do. I wish Kelsey and I went out more often like this, but she's in school, and we're both busy. On a more positive note- when we do get together, for the most part, it's really good. 


I am off to bed to rest up for my day of testing that I need to prepare for in the morning. So much for staying ahead this week! It's been one lazyfest... but I think I really needed it.


Today I also went to my High School... yes, that's right. It's named after me. haha! They were having a poetry reading. A friend read his poem and a lead from my last musical read one as well. They had live music, and it was just really amazing to see my teachers and hang out with them for a bit.

Monday, January 24, 2011

International Scholar Laureate

Today was an awesome day, considering yesterday was so emotionally draining. Today, I found out that in my math class, I got %100 on my first quiz! I knew I had it, but it's so nice to know that I actually did get it.  I also learned that I got an A on my first English 101 paper. I was looking for a better score, but... I guess I'll take it, it's still an A and I have a better grade than most people in the class anyway. 

On the way home, I picked up the mail, and I saw something in the mail that looked really sketch. I opened it anyway, and holy crap, it was a nomination to attend the International Scholar Laureate Program Delegation on Nursing in Australia in June. I was selected based on my leadership skills, outstanding academic performance and being a member of Phi Theta Kappa ΦΘΚ. It's a career-focused study and an exploration of the culture. The executive director sent a letter, mass-produced, but still amazing, congratulating me on my nomination into the ISLP. He also states scholarships are available online... which is spectacular because the tuition is about $4,500. I am also planning on going to Turkey for the History Club so that is $1,500. I am really hoping that I am able to make it to both. I will be doing a bunch of fundraising, scholarship finding, a beg-a-thon, maybe a pay pal account, as well as making money through work.


I'm really excited for these opportunities, but the fact that they are financially out of my reach makes them slightly double edged swords. It's an amazing opportunity and I hope to take advantage of both, so I'm going to really do my best to get the money to go to both. I need to... I have to, for my life. They just seem too amazing not to do. 


Wasn't able to talk much to Jacob today, but absence makes the heart grow fonder, yes?

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Real. Life. Exhibit.

Today was a hard day. Seriously. I really don't know how I held it together like I did. We went to visit the Medical Teams International exhibit about life around the world. It's shocking, in your face and just... intense. It was hard not to cry, and now thinking about it is making me tear up. I believe every single person should be able to go to it. It's called REAL. LIFE. There are so many things that this teaches you to be thankful for your life. They really use all the senses to spark such an intense experience. They use sight with hundreds of pictures of the devastation. They use smell- you can actually smell the trash that thousands of people live in in Mexico City. They use touch- you can go into some of the tents and huts people live in to actually see that 10 people live and sleep inside a 10x10 ft. space. And finally, they use sound by playing various videos throughout the exhibit, various sounds that induce tears from any and all who hear them in the section about the Moldavian children's hospitals- the cries of badly burnt children. That one really bothered me the most. I couldn't finish reading the information in that section because I was disturbed by the sounds of the children crying out in pain.


 Sadly, we were not allowed to take pictures inside, but here is a video-

That was just a really rewarding experience that I wouldn't trade for anything. I hope that everyone I know has the ability to go see this excellent piece of humanity.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Julie & Julia

Today was my relaxing day before I go off to cook dinner for the parents and children in the Ronald McDonald House in Portland. It's been just that- relaxing and sentimental. At noon, I started cooking my mashed cauliflower and potatoes and I put the Boeuf Bourguignon into the oven. I then started the 2009 movie Julie & Julia with two of my favorite actresses, Meryl Streep and Amy Adams. It's an amazing movie, I absolutely love it. The story of the blogger who is just trying to do something for herself to have something to do. It's not like I don't already have so many things I need to be doing, this blog is just a way for me to be me. 


While eating my boeuf bourguignon, I watched the movie. What a lovely afternoon alone. I love it. There is a part where she goes to a bookstore, and tries to find a French cookbook in English. Anyway, I've been to that bookstore in Paris! It was nice seeing that. Well, I must get ready for my volunteering today! I will probably post more about my experience later! 


LATER- So, the Ronald McDonald House was really amazing, actually. I connected with some of the families staying there. It was really cool. After, we went out for dinner and drinks. It was really relaxing. I also found out that I'm on the list to go to Turkey this summer, if the trip actually happens. So, yay! I had a great night. Off to bed. Tomorrow is a huge day!


Another awesome thing is that Jacob was initiated into Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity tonight! I'm very proud of my Alpha Sig! :]

Friday, January 21, 2011

Caffe Mocha!

So, my dad is a handyman for the area, he is really awesome, actually. He has done a lot of really cool jobs. Recently he started a job for an amazing Cafe downtown Camas and he suggested I go there and get a mocha. I went in today and oh man!! Her mocha was amazing! I love it there, and the atmosphere is just lovely. I'm going there as often as I can now. I love it. She is also just a really nice lady. That was one of the best parts of today, just relaxing and drinking the mocha.


My boyfriend is being initiated into a fraternity called Alpha Sigma Phi. He's not allowed to speak to anyone... except significant other [thats me! yay!] and his family. I'm really excited for him to have this opportunity. From the one brother from the fraternity I've met- they really are Fraternity Gentlemen. :]


Tonight was also Alpha Sigma Phi game night for my greek side. Yes, we belong to the same greek name... but not the same. MY Alpha Sigma Phi is just our chapter of the bigger Phi Theta Kappa, an honors society. I think it's cute we're both Alpha Sigs. haha! Anyway, game night was amazing! I love my fellow Alpha Sigs!! :]


And I shall end this with the song that hasn't left my mind- The Sixth Station.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Position Paper!

Today started off really well, I got to watch a Courage the Cowardly Dog before going off to yoga class. Yoga was pretty relaxing today, I did the poses pretty confidently today, that was cool! After yoga, I hung out with Leah and we went to Walmart to be weird together. I got some yoga blocks! They are awesome, I suggest them to anyone who is trying to use yoga as means for posture or flexibility.


The best part of today was meeting up with my Model UN partner at Starbucks and we knocked out our position paper for the General Assembly 1 for Boston!! I'm super excited that this part of the process is done because- let me tell you- it's the worst part when you can't connect to your topics! I was really dragging my feet in researching and writing the paper because the topics were The Taliban [which means the enlightened ones. Ha.], and Cyberterrorism. If you know me at all, I don't like this kind of global conflict. My personal views on these two topics are simple... if you want to know- just ask me. Bosnia and Herzegovina's position, however, were more difficult to find because it is such a new state [state= country in the rest of the world, fyi]. After the end of the Bosnian War in 1995, they started from a lower level than they stated off, so it was really interesting seeing what we could find about these topics. Overall, I think the paper is excellent. Just read my part to my parents- they said it sounded smart! YAY! I'm so very excited.


After my writing study thing, I went to Trader Joe's! I love that place, I always buy more than I need to, though. Who doesn't?! For dinner, I had a bit of cheese ravioli with a mushroom tomato sauce. I also had a french onion soup and a bit of goat cheese! YUM! Right now I'm sitting watching Bob's Burgers with my parents. They haven't seen it yet, and I think they're liking it. I love it. So today has been a really amazing day!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

First day back to reality!

Oh man this morning was hard! It first felt so weird not being in California, or being able to just see Jacob all the time. I admit, I had a moment and cried a little. But, it just makes me appreciate the time we get to spend together! YAY Positive outlooks on things, yes?


I had a math test, and I was seriously prepared for it, no joke! It was freakin' awesome, actually... I kicked butt on it. I also had another test in my Model United Nations class, but we were put into groups and it went fine. The teacher was sick, so the coach did class. After, I stayed after with some amazing friends from MUN. We studied and just hung out. Once we were tired of that, some of us went to Red Robin... just in time for Happy Hour!! It was a nice surprise. The best surprise of the night was that I knew our waiter! Him and I were on the Varsity Mock Trial team in high school... He makes a mean margarita. :P 


Since we were next to Whole Foods, we walked over there and ran around the store. I picked up some of Amy's Lentil soup! Oh man, I am in love with this soup... So, I got two, but tried a new one- Curried Lentil. I also picked up a bottle of Apple Cider! Very delicious, both of them... I went home, did some English homework, and had a bowl of soup [in one of my hand made bowls from ceramics class!] and a class of cider! :] Great night.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Sleepy Breakfast, tearful goodbyes...

Today was my last day in Chico... it was kind of sad. I'm really bummed out right now. I'm in the Sacramento Airport. But that isn't positive!! We woke up really late and had a great time just sitting on the couch being dorks together. After showers, we went to breakfast at a small, but really good, place near his apartment. It was really nice just being with him. 


We then drove to the Sacramento Airport which was long and kind of sad... But I got through security just fine! 


Just got home, actually... I have so much homework to do tonight so I have to make this quick. Bad thing turned positive- When I got home, I realized I didn't take any pictures of us. At all... But, if you think about it, I was just having too much of a good time making the memories than taking pictures of them. :]  That's what I have to tell myself to not cry because I have no pictures of us together.

Monday, January 17, 2011

Sushi!

Today was another lazy day, but we went out to walk around downtown Chico, CA. It was a really nice place to walk around. We went past all the Fraternity and sorority houses, it was really funny because they are all scattered around. It was just a nice walk with him, we talked about a bunch of stuff. 


We also went to a local sushi restaurant called The Rawbar. It was awesome food... seriously. We got a bunch of sushi, miso soup, and tea. YUMMY! It was great. Here is a picture of some of our sushi!






Another awesome place we went to down there was Powell's Sweet Shop. I've been to the one in Fresno, CA but never the one in Chico. It was way bigger, but they are both still as cool. 


YAY for awesomeness!

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Indiana Jones

Good times! Jacob's roommate, Tony brought over a girl who was freaking awesome. Her and I both love Doctor Who. Anyway, we ended up watching Indiana Jones and everyone took a drink when he cracked his whip, when someone drank, when someone died, or when they did the red line on the map. It was awesome.


We just stayed at home most of the day because it was gross outside, but it was really relaxing. Jacob is an amazing cook, and he's made me food every day now... makes me feel kinda lazy, but oh well. It's freaking awesome, I think. I'm really glad to have him.


If that whole thing isn't positive, I don't know what is! haha

Saturday, January 15, 2011

Nerddom

Living with two nerds has been hilarious. Really.... They both play WoW and Warhammer... crazyness. The one thing I didn't expect is that for the most part; I'm keeping up with the Nerdyness. So, hell-to-the-yes!


Today we went to a pizza place that everyone goes to and it was soooo good! We went shopping for food... we actually were able to have the top down in his convertible. That was awesome. 


Jacob cooked food for us all, roasted chicken rice pilaf. It was amazing... he's such a good cook. I've told him a few times after taking a bite of his food that I was happy he was my boyfriend. :P Later, I came up with the idea to take a drink of whatever you were drinking every time Jim looks at the camera on The Office, or when Michael says a "That's what she said" joke. It turned out to be freaking amazing for some episodes, then not so much for others. Over all, it was just awesome..

Friday, January 14, 2011

Chico

Chico is really awesome, actually. We had a quiet morning, I did my homework and he read a book. Which was really nice because I was really stressed out about doing homework. He just asked me what I had to do today and I did it. Pretty sweet, yes? 


We went to The Bear, which is a local hot spot to get a really good burger, I couldn't finish mine because it was so huge and yummy. We also walked around all of the CSU Chico campus. It's a really nice campus! It's actually sunny today, so I got some Vitamin D! WOO! 


His roommate approves of me... it was really funny when he came to that conclusion. We were watching something, and they said something about being hairy and I said, "That's what I forgot! A Hairbrush! Shit." Good times... and knotty hair. I'm having a really good time down here, though. It just feels a bit weird to be in California without seeing my family. It was the same way when I went down to Twentynine Palms. Oh well... I'll see them in May!

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Airports!

Airports! Gotta love them... they take you to somewhere awesome, or to someone awesome! I went to visit my boyfriend who is going to CSU Chico. So, that is my positive thing for the day. I also didn't get gate raped at the Airport, so that was nice. hahaha...

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Frazzled, but good.

Today was a great day, actually. It was freezing rain last night and my sisters school was canceled. I get it, and it was more frozen downtown, but when I woke up it wasn't icy at my house at all. I was very confused until I drove about 2 miles from my house and the first car was crashed into a light post. Crazy!


I am pretty sure I got 100% on my math test today. The first math test, to be exact!! I'm really excited about this, actually. It's been a lot... easier? than I would have thought. Another test was my Model United Nations quiz- Geography and a quiz on three different books. THREE! But, thankfully, we were allowed to work on it with a partner and my partner and I aced it! For real! :]


I'm at work right now, it's going really good. Just as I said that, my client started calling for me. I guess I shouldn't say if it's going good or not. haha


Okay, I need to start working on a packing list for my trip down to visit my boyfriend in Chico, California! :] Hope you all have a great night!

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Fondue!

Fondue is really the cornerstone of everybody's... no, it's the cornerstone of life. I went to a German restaurant with a friend of mine. She recently turned 21 and we sat in the bar. It was the first time I went out with a friend to a place that has a bar. Honestly, it was seriously nice to just go out, sit in the bar, and have fondue with my friend. So, that was one of my high points.


Another great thing to happen today was physical therapy. I worked out really hard, but I also got an amazing deep tissue massage! I go to Timberline Physical Therapy and it is amazing. The staff is so helpful and understanding, they are really fun to work with and they are really skilled in what they do. I love it there, and I'm pretty sure they love me too!


Okay, I have a really long day tomorrow, but I won't give it away until I write my blog about all the positive things! It will probably be later in the day like today because my rough draft essay is due!

Monday, January 10, 2011

One of those BETTER days!!

Today was much better. I had a great day, actually. I had a great school day, traffic to school was good... the test in math class was moved to Wednesday. Great day. I went to this great place in downtown Vancouver for lunch for my special thing this week and to study. It's called Mint Tea, and the owners are a couple, the man is from Morocco, so most of the food is Moroccan. I'm still not quite sure what I had for food today, but it was so delicious. I guess you can't really be a picky eater to go there. I do that often, just order from their menu and eat it. I never really know what kind of amazing treat I'm going to get. Of course, I ordered their Moroccan Mint tea. It's an incredible tea, actually. The first pot of tea was completely different than the second which they added hot water to the already steeped tea leaves. 


Secondly, I was planning on getting a bikini wax today because I've had friends say it was the bomb. Anyway, great news is that my appointment was canceled so I didn't have to get a bikini wax. I think that is WAY positive. I'm not even being sarcastic about that one. Looking back on it with a clearer head- who wants that?! No one- that's who.


Another spectacular thing to happen today was that we got a new student on the FIRST Robotics team. [The link is because this year's homework was because Dean's Homework was to say FIRST Robotics, not just Robotics, and really get FIRST into every conversation you have about robotics.] This new student is an 8th grader, but she is really good with direction and just listened to me. I was actually thrown off because she asked me a question... then listened. It's not like I don't have other students who don't do that [if you're reading!] BUT this one is very young, and she was just really good with direction. I also actually taught her stuff. It was one of the really touching mentor moments for me.


Hope everyone had a positive and awesome day!! 

Sunday, January 9, 2011

One of those days!

Today has just been weird! So, I haven't really thought of my positive thing except for the obvious-


  • I'm breathing
  • I have a roof over my head
  • I ate food today
  • I have running water
And so on... You get the basics. I wanted to stride above that for my positives, but today was just not one of those. I guess one positive was that I got ahead in my English class and finished everything that was due Monday at midnight this afternoon. That is about it. I am now having to work on math homework that I am getting, it's just boring. It's statistics or math 203, and I'm just jumping at the bit to do some actual math! So far, it's only been writing. Then I have to write up about my country, Bosnia and Herzegovina, for my Model United Nations class.

One kind of cool thing today was that I got to hang out with Kelsey and Leah while watching cartoons and we watched some good oldies. Go old cartoons, they always make me smile! 

I guess I need to get back to homework...


So, just to summarize up my positive points, I got ahead in English class, I'm bored in math class [not behind! yay], I got to hang out with two lovely ladies [not hookers, like in Le Mis.], and I got to watch some cartoons I really enjoy. Have a great rest of the day!


Something cool that has come up is that Jeff Davis, an author that I respect from the area commented on one of my Facebook pictures of my favorite TV show [The IT Crowd]. Pretty sweet.

Saturday, January 8, 2011

FIRST Robotics!

Like I've said in the past, I am on a FIRST Robotics team and today was the FRC Kickoff! We learned what the 6 week challenge would be! It's a game called "Locomotion" and it is really cool because it actually has two robots. The actual main cool part is that the kids will be able to experience another season and 6 week period of building. They not only build a robot, but they build friendships, they build self-confidence, teamwork skills, leadership skills, problem solving skills, and so much more. It's not just about the robot at the end of the 6 weeks, it's about the journey to the robot. 


The game this year for FRC is called "Locomotion" Here is the game animation. I will get a better quality one soon, this is just one someone got from the Kickoff this morning!



It was really cool watching and feeling the excitement of the kids even though we weren't there in NH. Once someone uploads it, I will try to get a video of the special guest of the kickoff- Will.I.Am. Seriously. It was pretty "dope" like he describes the 2011 game. 

I am currently at work, I should be working on homework... but I thought I would blog now and do homework later since my client is taking a nap. :] 

I may or may not add more stuff later if more positive things arise in the day! It can only get even more amazing from now on!

Friday, January 7, 2011

Crabby much?

So, today went really well! It was my first "day off" but it didn't seem like that at all because I was so busy with homework and driving my sister around. Oh, and watching an episode of Bewitched. I love that show.


I visited the High School I graduated from. It's actually named after me. Pretty cool how they did that. I had a conversation about the difference between a shiv and a shank with my past english teacher. It was pretty awesome, actually because she's pretty awesome. We then ventured into OCD land with the wall of clocks that she has. It was a lovely visit, so there is one positive thing. 


My sister and I met with the principal, who really knows how to put the word "pal" back into principal. Anyway, we talked about little sister attending said school, it went really good. She's in because she's a legacy. Right. haha. My principal, who is also a great lady, was asking my sister about her friends at the school and I ended up describing a sibling of one of them as a "Creepy McFuck"... well, because it's true. Overall, it was really awesome! I always love visiting.


I actually finished my English assignment an hour and a half before it was due, so that was really awesome and exciting for me. I'm normally a huge procrastinator, and an hour and a half is excellent. 


I went out to dinner with a friend of mine. She is a really sweet person and she is SO much like me that it's scary. We went to Joe's Crab Shack, it was seriously funny trying to get the crab open because it was hard for both of us, and it was messy. Our server was really sweet, and we both said that if we had met her not as our server, we probably would love her as a friend. Really good key lime pie, too. So, really great time.


Great freaking day. Productive and everything. Got to talk to the boyfriend a few times during the day... everything is grand. This weekend has a tight homework, robotics, and normal work schedule so I will have to try to stay positive! I will let you know how it goes.

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Yoga... Om...

Today was the first day of Yoga class.... well, the first official day that we actually did some yoga. Overall, it was a really good class. I got some good relaxation out of it. I feel like I need to blog more, but I have a huge paper due for my english class. 4th day of class, and already a paper is due! Oye!


I had a good work out at physical therapy today... So, that was good! I got to eat a Five Guys burger... Man... it was really awesome, I have to say. But next time I will get a little hamburger because a normal one is two hamburger patties and that was a TON of food! I am really looking forward to tomorrow being quiet at the house and I can be anywhere I want to be... Just thinking about is making me happy, so that's special to me. :]


Okay, back to homework!

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Syllabus!

So, I am a mentor for a really cool thing called FIRST Robotics! There are 3 different high schools that are on the team. The kids are the best thing [most of the times] in my life for the past 3 years. We compete with robots, the kids get a challenge and have literally 6 weeks to brainstorm, plan, and build a robot to fit the challenge given. It's a... well, challenge, but the end product is always amazing.


Anyway, this year we are competing at the Portland, OR and Seattle, WA competitions and I realized my math final was on the SAME day as the Seattle regional [I live in the Portland-Metro area]. On the syllabus the instructor wrote, "No exceptions- don't even ask!" Because it was on a Friday, I'm assuming people will try to get out of it because they want to leave early. So, I told him about how I'm a mentor for an excellent STEM opportunity for kids as young as 1st grade through high school and how our regional competition was the same weekend as the final and if I could take the other class' final, which will be on Thursday.


HE SAID YES! :] I cried... because it was a really stressful thing for me, and I was expecting him to say no, because it says "don't even ask". But who in their right mind would say no to someone who cares enough to cry about a volunteer position. No one? Well... maybe someone who was really evil or mean. Nevertheless, he said yes and that is my positive thing for today!


If anyone is reading this as I'm posting, which I slightly doubt [since no one I've told has cared to ask for the address to it], I'm posting this entry a day late because I had an absolutely awful migraine when I got home from Robotics on Wednesday night. So, there we go! :]

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Long day!

So... yeah, it totally is the day that I mean this to be- 1/4/2011. I am a night owl, so you might have to deal with some posts being the next morning... early morning. Sorry, but that's just how it might be. I apologize if that causes upset in the minds of my one reader. haha! [jokes on you, I figured out how to change it!]


Today was a really great day for me, I went to sit in on a yoga class one of my friends is in and the instructor let me into it! I'm really excited about getting into it because I really need to take this class not just for myself, but for... other people around me. I've been having some stressors in my life and there are a lot of changes and new classes. All these at once is just too much for me so this yoga class is just amazing. I told the instructor, "you have no idea how much this means to me." 


That friend and I also ran through Costco and ate samples... which were so amazing! haha! Never go to Costco hungry, though... it doesn't end well. Anyway, that's all I got for positiveness right now. A few non- positive things happened today, but those seem dull in comparison to the great things that happened.


Oh, holy cow! I ALSO totally finished my math homework and actually understood it. HOW CRAZY IS THAT?! If that's not positive, I don't know what is. Goodnight!

Monday, January 3, 2011

First Day Back To Class!

Ahhh! Sorry it's taken me so long to update! 10 more minutes until tomorrow!


So, today was the first day of classes. It started off pretty decent, rolled out of bed at 10a, went to the post office, then to school to try to find a parking spot! It took me a good 20 minutes to find a parking spot at the other side of the campus from where I needed to be. More walking for me!


I am having a really hard time focusing on this task of writing about positive things because my credit union made a mistake with my savings and I'm confused as to why $25 is being held instead of the normal 5$... sooo... yeah? Ah, okay! Not really negative, just confusing. 


Positive things! I got my books in a semi-timely matter, I saw a few friends I haven't seen in a while, I was taken out to lunch by my wonderful friend Crystal and we sat in her car in the parking lot, ate veggie burgers and just talked. She invited me to a sleep-over on Friday. I'm pretty excited, but I will still post a small blog! I promise! It will just be earlier in the day. :] I had a really long, nice talk with a friend in my Model United Nations class, and it was really nice to just talk to her for a bit. Class was really fun, too! 


Man! So many good things today! OH, I had a super excellent pumpkin spice latte today, it really made my afternoon. Math class is good, I hope the people get weeded out because there are a ton of people and I'm not sure how well I can learn with that. I will be moving to the second row if not the first row tomorrow like usual! I had a great Robotics meeting with my robotics kids. I also went out for a secret meeting with my friend Leah, we had frozen yogurt and french fries. I cheated on my diet, yeah so? Frozen yogurt is good, I got the tart one, so it has less calories, and I only got fruit, granola and nuts on mine. 


Okay, goodnight people!

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Out of the house!

Today, as seen in the title... I got out of the house! Wooo! Christmas break just seems to keep me inside of the house, and for no real good reason... it just seems to happen. We went to the Pioneer Courthouse Square in Portland, OR and went to the mall, it was a nice trip. We got Starbucks in the square, stopped and looked at the tree. It was a really nice, simple... outing with my dad and sister. 


Out of all that positiveness, the best part was siting on the steps, next to the chess game/sculpture, sipping on a vanilla latte. I was just taking in Portland and all it had to offer... enjoying the site that I had played on countless times over the years. Watching the tree light up... it was gorgeous. 


Tomorrow is my first day back to classes! Wish me luck, world.

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Cat Nap

So, today was filled with some crazyness. I found out that life for the next month wouldn't be as easy as I thought it would be. It's nothing really serious, but feelings from when I was younger came up and I threw a tantrum on my kitchen floor. Great way to start out my new year, but dang, I felt so much better after! 


My great thing today was my cat Gerard waking me up by laying over my side and licking me... for the first time in forever. Actual kisses! It might be really small to non-cat lovers or even other people, but it meant a lot to me. So, there is my special, positive thing for the day! He is currently laying next to me, under my arm, making it hard to type. haha!

New Years Resolution!

I've always been a realistic person and I don't really plan on changing that, but I really could use a change in scenery. By that, I mean, how I see things... So, my new years resolution is to blog once a day about something positive, beautiful, amazing, or special that has happened to me that day. Even if it is covered in bad things, I need to find the good in it.


Of course I understand that there is something positive to look at every day and hopefully I won't have to fall back on the obvious ones like having a roof over my head, or being able to eat, having a bed, ect... because I know those, I love that I have them... but I am looking for more positive things. I need to branch out... these basics are getting stale and I need to be able to realize I have way more than that to be thankful for, or that it positive in my life!


That is the goal. It's going to be a hard one. I normally just see them as I call them and don't look back... but this will force me to look at it and pick something good out of the day. I hope this will inspire me for a lifelong journey of positive outlooks.